Faculty member Dionne Irving Bremyer's The Islands shortlisted for 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Author: Paul Cunningham

Dionne Irving Bremyer

Dionne Irving Bremyer, an associate professor of English at Notre Dame, is one of five Canadian authors who have been shortlisted for the 2023 Scotiabank Gilller Prize.

Irving Bremyer’s short story collection The Islands is one of the 5 titles chosen from 145 books submitted by Canadian publishers. The shortlist was determined by five judges including Canadian authors Ian Williams, Sharon Bala, Brian Thomas Isaac, American author Rebecca Makkai, and British-Indian writer Neel Mukherjee. The Scotiabank Giller Prize winner will be announced live on CBC at an event hosted by the incomparable Rick Mercer on November 13, 2023 at 9 p.m. local time (11:30 p.m. AT, 12 a.m. NT). The broadcast will be presented commercial-free courtesy of Scotia Wealth Management. CBC Gem will stream the ceremony, with a livestream also available on cbcbooks.ca/gillerprize. Listeners can tune in to the broadcast special on CBC Radio One and CBC Listen at 9 p.m. (10 p.m. AT, 10:30 p.m. NT).

“These five authors offered up hypnotic, mesmerizing stories to this year’s jury. Each one rare, each one unique. The jury agonized over the final five books, arguing passionately and forcefully for their choices. The list and the authors they ultimately arrived at showcases the depth and breadth of Canadian literature. Congratulations to all.”
– Elana Rabinovitch, Executive Director, Scotiabank Giller Prize

The Giller Prize, founded by Jack Rabinovitch in 1994, is Canada’s most esteemed literary prize for fiction. Scotiabank has been title sponsor since 2005. The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel, graphic novel, or short story collection published in English, and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of Jack Rabinovitch’s wife, the late literary journalist, Doris Giller.

Earlier this year, Irving Bremyer's The Islands was also named a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award in Fiction.

Originally published by Paul Cunningham at english.nd.edu on October 03, 2023.